Your location:

Conservative Party Conference Fringe

Monday 5th October 2015 – Tuesday 6th October 2015

    Conservative Party Conference Fringe Events 2015

    The Centre for Policy Studies will hold four events at the Conservative Party Conference. All events are outside the secure zone so a pass is not required.

    Where Next for the Northern Powerhouse?

    Monday 5 October at 12.45 at Manchester Central Library


    James Wharton MP, Minister for Local Growth & Northern Powerhouse

    Professor Paul Cheshire, Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

    Dave Swindle, Group Executive Vice President AECOM                         

    Chair: Keith Boyfield, CPS Research Fellow and Author

    Sponsored by AECOM


    Britain's Got Competitiveness/Making the UK the world’s most competitive economy

    Monday 5 October at 18.00 at Manchester Town Hall


    Harriett Baldwin MP, Economic Secretary, (Minister for the City of London) HM Treasury

    Mark Boleat, Chairman of the Policy & Resources Committee, City of London 

    Roger Bootle, Executive Chairman, Capital Economics

    James Forsyth, Political Editor, The Spectator

    Chair: Tim Knox, Director, CPS 

    Sponsored by City of London


    Do you have superfast broadband yet – is a broken market hurting Britain’s connectivity?

    Tuesday 6 October at 12.45 at Radisson Edwardian Hotel, Peter Street, Manchester, M2 5GP      

    Jesse Norman MP, Chair Culture,Media & Sport Committee

    Sarah Lee, Head of Policy, Countryside Alliance

    Paul Morris, Head of Government Affairs, Vodafone Ltd

    Matt Warman MP, Co-Chair APPG for Broadband and Digital Connectivity

    Chair Tim Knox, Director, CPS

    Sponsored by Vodafone Ltd


    New Foundations for a coherent energy policy

    Tuesday 6 October at 18.00 hrs at Radisson Edwardian Hotel, Peter Street, Manchester, M2 5GP


    Andrea Leadsom MP, Minister of State, Dept of Energy & Climate Change

    Ken Cronin, Chief Executive, UKOOG

    Tony Lodge, CPS Research Fellow and Author

    Dan Lewis, Senior Adviser Energy Policy, Institute of Directors

    Chair: Tim Knox, Director, CPS 

    Sponsored by Lord Vinson of Roddam Dene